The original Pricketts Fort was completed in 1774 under the command of Captain Jacob Prickett, for the purpose of protecting local settlers against Native American attacks. The reconstructed fort you see today, was built in 1976 by the Pricketts Fort Memorial Foundation and serves as a living history museum. The fort houses four blockhouses, fourteen cabins, a meeting house, gun shop, and trading post.
The Pricketts Fort Visitor Center houses a museum orientation gallery, research library, and a gift shop. These resources are available to visitors year round.
- Orientation Gallery – The museum orientation gallery contains a variety of educational exhibits and unique artifacts. A short introductory video on the history of Pricketts fort is also available for viewing in the gallery.
- Thomas Library – The Thomas Library houses books, documents, photographs and digital resources that focus on 18th century America, the Western Virginia frontier, Pricketts Fort Community, genealogy, and various other historic subjects.
- Museum Gift Shop – The Pricketts Fort gift shop offers a unique selection of items to delight visitors of all ages. From handmade items to history books, to Pricketts Fort memorabilia, there really is something for everyone.